Steve and Chan’s wedding

This weekend was special for more than one reason.  It was Suzy’s last wedding this season my intern before she heads back to the UK.  I know she was as excited as I was to be shooting Steve and Chan’s wedding!

The day began at Chan’s house where she got her hair and make up done.

Steve and his groomsmen arrived at the house a little later.  At the door, Steve and his groomsmen were given challenges to complete before they were allowed to enter and see the beautiful bride who was hiding in the bedroom.  The guests watched from inside the house as one of Steve’s friend volunteered to get the fun started!  He and the groomsmen were made to put on lipstick and give Steve a kiss on the cheek!

Steve’s expression was heartwarming as he took his first glance at Chan in her wedding dress.

After the tea ceremony, we headed to Kelly Park to take the family portraits.

Suzy, Sarah, and I walked around the park with Steve and Chan after family and friends had left the park.  This is one of my favorite location to shoot in San Jose.  There’s just so much variety here.

While shooting their portraits, we came across two other brides doing the same thing.  I couldn’t resist getting a shot of Chan with each of the brides!

The most impressive member of the bridal party was the four year old ring bearer, Kyle, who was such a big character!

Not only was he was four going on twelve, but he was a big part of the day right up until the last group shot at the end of the reception! You can see him right there at the back.

When I asked him to jump, he didn’t just jump.   He jumped up and down on the ground!

When I asked him to give Chan a kiss, he didn’t just kiss her once on the cheek.  He pecked her cheek again and again!

Then later at the reception, he walked up to Suzy, tapped her on the leg, and asked if he could get a photograph with her.   She asked him for a hug and a kiss on the cheek, to which he sweetly obliged!

The reception was so much fun! They had over 370 guests, so the ABC restaurant was teeming with people laughing and chatting.  It gave the whole venue an amazing atmosphere.

They had a photobooth set up for guests to snap fun photos.   Of course Suzy, Sarah and I had to have a go in the photobooth too!

The DJ and MC were great at getting the party going.  They even encouraged a couple to come up and show Steve and Chan a fun kiss to do.  Of course Steve and Chan had to copy it!

Chan changed into her beautiful Chinese dress and the party continued!  Steve even joined her up on stage for some karaoke where they sung Justin Bieber’s song “Baby”.

The night was great fun!  I will be extremely sad to see Suzy leave.   She has been such a joy to have around.  I know that she will do very well when she starts her own photography business in the UK.  We will all miss her very much.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: 2011, Uncategorized, wedding

Author:Charles Le

Please support this blog by commenting and subscribing. I love reading feedback and I'm sure the the newlyweds would love to see your comments too! If you have any questions please don''t hesitate to post them or send me an email. I'm always interested to hear what you think! Thanks for your support. Ten years ago, I left the mortgage and real estate business to pursue photography, which is a passion of mine. The mortgage business was excellent at that time but I was tired of it. I had a daughter that was just born and I wanted to do something that would allow me to spend more time with her and at the same time do what I wanted. I knew that I enjoyed people photography and soon discovered that I have a very real and special talent for it. I discovered that I was particularly good at capturing moments and revealing emotions through pictures. This came instinctively for me and allowed me to develop a style that was very comfortable for me to work in. My photography quickly became popular in the bay area and I've earned a large number of referral businesses as a result. In fact, i'd say I most of my business growth is the result of referrals from clients and online sites like Yelp. I currently have a studio in downtown San Jose and photograph weddings and portraits all over the bay area and California.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment