Multiple Exposure Wedding portraits with the Fuji X Pro 1

I really like the panoramic feature on my Fuji X Pro  1 and recently I’ve been experimenting with the cool multi-exposure feature too.  I love the effect!  I think it would be a great creative addition to my wedding and portrait photography if used sparingly.  I have the same feature on my Canon 5d Mark 3 and Olympus OM-D but I prefer it on the Fuji because it allows me to do multiple retakes before committing to the final picture.  I can see how the images will look on the screen before pressing the shutter.  This makes it a great tool for accurate composition rather than an estimated guess.  Here are a couple of multiple exposure pictures I incorporated into a bridal shoot yesterday.  These were Jpegs straight out of the camera with no color correction or processing whatsoever.  I love how it looks just the way it is with the setting sun casting beautiful glow on the scene.  The only thing I did in Photoshop was cloning out a couple of  distracting elements in one picture and getting rid of a distracting person from the  left of the frame in the second picture.  I could have reposting myself when I took the shot, but that would have meant losing some of the background, which I didn’t want to lose.  I guess you can also get this same multi exposure effect post in PS, but I prefer to  be creative at the point of exposure when I’m immerse in the the scene rather than in front of the computer.

Image

Image

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: wedding

Author:Charles Le

Please support this blog by commenting and subscribing. I love reading feedback and I'm sure the the newlyweds would love to see your comments too! If you have any questions please don''t hesitate to post them or send me an email. I'm always interested to hear what you think! Thanks for your support. Ten years ago, I left the mortgage and real estate business to pursue photography, which is a passion of mine. The mortgage business was excellent at that time but I was tired of it. I had a daughter that was just born and I wanted to do something that would allow me to spend more time with her and at the same time do what I wanted. I knew that I enjoyed people photography and soon discovered that I have a very real and special talent for it. I discovered that I was particularly good at capturing moments and revealing emotions through pictures. This came instinctively for me and allowed me to develop a style that was very comfortable for me to work in. My photography quickly became popular in the bay area and I've earned a large number of referral businesses as a result. In fact, i'd say I most of my business growth is the result of referrals from clients and online sites like Yelp. I currently have a studio in downtown San Jose and photograph weddings and portraits all over the bay area and California.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Multiple Exposure Wedding portraits with the Fuji X Pro 1”

  1. Morgan
    July 9, 2012 at 4:42 am #

    After seeing your results I gave it a try with my xpro1. Not so easy to get shots as good as yours. I never even realized it could do this.
    Thanks for sharing your great work.

  2. July 9, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    great shots, thanks for sharing … but@morgan, what’s so special about multiexposure-ability of a camera? I started doing it with my first Canon AL1 and did it and still am doing it with my Nikon D 700 and my daughter’s small Nikon p&s, Leica M4?! Have I missed something?

    • July 9, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      I can’t speak for those cameras you use but what’s special about the feature on the X Pro 1 is that after you press the shutter for the for the second exposure it let’s you preview the final picture and asks you if you want to keep the exposure or try again. For example, if you frame the first shot and are happy with it you can now concentrate on the second shot. If you don’t like it you can keep trying until you are happy with it without having to start at the beginning. If your cameras allow you to do that then I think it’s great. My other cameras don’t do that. It makes you start again.

      As to the AL1 and the M4, arn’t you just guessing how the two exposure are going to look like? There’s no way of knowing for sure until you develope the pictures. That can be fun but when I have a client I’m working with I want to be sure I got the results I want before I move on.

  3. July 9, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Great pictures. Thanx for the tip.

  4. July 9, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    @charles le … ok, that explains your excitement a lot, didn’t actually know that you can see the first and the next frame at the same time. with film is kind of guessing and experience what I like a lot, with the D700 it is like you see the result after you finished it not while working on it … ok, sounds like a quite interesting feature. thanks for updating me;-)

  5. August 24, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Really cool pictures shared. Thanks for it.

Leave a Reply

